Shane Lowry's rule break erupts into controversy amid furious outburst: 'F*** this place!'

WATCH NOW: Shane Lowry snaps at reporter in press conference

Ben McCaffrey

By Ben McCaffrey


Published: 18/07/2025

- 21:58

The former Open champion suffered the penalty after he moved his ball during a practice swing

Shane Lowry's second round at The Open descended into controversy after the R&A assessed him a two-stroke penalty for causing his ball to move during a practice swing on the 11th hole.

The penalty, confirmed after reviewing footage following his round, changed the Irishman's score from two-under to even par.


The incident occurred shortly after Lowry was heard shouting "f*** this place" in frustration when his tee shot veered left into the rough.

Sky Sports commentator Ewan Murray was forced to apologise after the expletive was broadcast live, saying: "Sorry about the language slipping through there."

Shane Lowry

X

|

Shane Lowry was left frustrated after his shot veered to the left, leading to the X-rated outburst

Television cameras captured the moment Lowry's ball appeared to move fractionally backwards whilst he took a practice swing in the long grass on the par-5 12th hole.

Neither Lowry nor his caddie Darren Reynolds noticed the tiny motion at the time.

The R&A informed Lowry as he walked up the 15th fairway that they would review the footage after his round.

JUST IN: Crystal Palace demand UEFA explanation over emails with Nottingham Forest and 'secret deadline'

Shane Lowry

Getty

|

The former champion was left unimpressed by the ordeal

Following meetings with Lowry and his playing partners Collin Morikawa and Scottie Scheffler, officials determined the ball had moved.

The 2019 champion at Royal Portrush had completed his round with a one-under-par 70, believing he was at two-under for the tournament.

The explicit outburst marked the third different major championship this year where Lowry has used the same profanity.

READ MORE: Michail Antonio reveals he remembers NOTHING of horror crash as he looks to return to club football

His frustration was evident as rain pelted Royal Portrush throughout the day, with the Offaly golfer exclaiming "No, don't go left, f*** off" when his tee shot found the left rough.

Social media users quickly spotted the ball movement, with one writing: "The ball clearly moved. This whole 'did he see it' or not issue should be irrelevant. He clearly caused the ball to move when he took the practice swing."

The incident threatened Lowry's chances of making the cut before he managed a birdie on the 15th hole.

LATEST SPORTS NEWS:

Shane Lowry

Reuters

|

The Irishman has gained a reputation for expletives

Golf rules stipulate that if a practice swing causes a ball to move, the player incurs a one-stroke penalty and must replace the ball on its original spot.

However, playing from where the ball moved to results in a two-stroke penalty.

The rules have been relaxed regarding accidental ball movement, with USGA regulations allowing leniency for "natural forces" including water and gravity.

The wet conditions at Royal Portrush, with rain falling throughout the day, created challenging circumstances.

The incident was only detected through television technology, raising questions about whether Lowry was aware his ball had moved during the practice swing.

More From GB News