Welsh Parliament election: Andrew RT Davies reveals his election team

Andrew RT Davies

Andrew RT Davies reshuffled his top team ahead of next year's election

Hannah Woodward

By Hannah Woodward

Published: 18/04/2024

- 11:22

The next Senedd election will be the seventh since devolution

The next General Election will take place this year, but for the Welsh Parliament the next election will likely take place before or in May of 2026.

With at least 25 months before the election, Andrew RT Davies the Leader of the Welsh Conservatives has today reshuffled his cabinet ready for the 2026 election.

He says the team has “proven themselves to be the next generation of Welsh Conservative trailblazers.”

“This refreshed team has a laser-like focus on delivering on the people’s priorities, unlike the Labour Welsh Government which is preoccupied with pet projects and distractions of their own making.

“The Shadow Cabinet that I have the privilege to lead stands ready to end 25 years of Labour mismanagement and to get Wales moving.”

The next Senedd election will be the seventh since devolution.

A lot can change in two years, but the election will most likely see Labour’s First Minister Vaughan Gething seek re-election against Conservative Andrew RT Davies, Plaid Cymru’s Rhun Ap Iorwerth and Liberal Democrat Jane Dodds.

The reshuffled Shadow Cabinet which will take on Labour at the next election is as follows:

  • Leader of the Welsh Conservatives – Andrew RT Davies MS
  • Shadow Minister for Transport – Natasha Asghar MS
  • Shadow Minister for Mental Health and Early Years – Gareth Davies MS
  • Shadow Minister for West Wales, Chair of the Senedd Economy, Trade and Rural Affairs Committee – Paul Davies MS
  • Shadow Minister for Rural Affairs – James Evans MS
  • Shadow Minister for Climate Change, Senedd Commissioner – Janet Finch-Saunders MS
  • Shadow Minister for Finance and Local Government – Peter Fox MS
  • Shadow Minster for Mid Wales and Deputy Whip, Chair of the Senedd Health and Social Care Committee – Russell George MS
  • Shadow Minister for Education and Welsh Language, Co-Chair of the Senedd Wales Covid-19 Inquiry Special Purpose Committee – Tom Giffard MS
  • Shadow Minister for Social Care – Dr Altaf Hussain MS
  • Shadow Counsel General and Shadow Minister for Housing and Planning, Chair of the Senedd Public Accounts and Public Administration Committee – Mark Isherwood MS
  • Shadow Minister for Social Partnership – Joel James MS
  • Shadow Minister for Culture, Sport, Tourism and Social Justice – Laura Anne Jones MS
  • Shadow Minister for Economy and Energy, Group Chair – Samuel Kurtz MS
  • Shadow Minister Constitution and North Wales, Chief Whip and Business Manager – Darren Millar MS
  • Shadow Minister for Health, Policy Director – Sam Rowlands MS

Proposed changed to the Senedd voting system could see the number of Senedd MS’ increase from 60 to 96.

Under the proposed method 16 constituencies will be drawn up. In each of these constituencies six members will be elected from closed lists.

Each party’s votes are divided by the number of seats it has won plus one. This is known as the D’Hondt formula and is seen a form of proportional representation.

The Welsh Government plans are backed by Plaid Cymru under the cooperation agreement so will more than likely pass in time for the 2026 election.

You may like